↑↓ to move ↵ to open Esc to close Browse all tools

Free Recipe Managers

Recipe managers that import from websites, plan the week and write the shopping list, from open source apps you host yourself to free hosted plans. We opened each official page, pricing page or repository and noted the free limits.

14 appsChecked How we check

  • Our pick to self-host Mealie A self-hosted manager with a clean web app
  • Our pick without a server RecipeSage Open source without running a server
Recipe Managers What’s freeLimitsPlatformsLicense or plan Checked Website
MealieA self-hosted manager with a clean web app Open source; import from a URL, meal planner for the week, shopping list grouped by store sectionYou run it: Docker images on Docker Hub and GitHub Container RegistrySelf-hosted web appAGPL-3.0 Source Visit
Tandoor RecipesImport from almost any recipe website Open source; URL import from websites with ld+json or microdata, manual or automatic meal plans, shopping list sorted by supermarket; hosted free plan with no credit cardHosted free plan: 1 member, 10 recipes; paid hosted plans from €1.99 a month; self-hosting via Docker, Unraid, Synology, KubernetesWeb; self-hosted or hostedAGPL v3 with a commons clause selling exception Source Visit
GrocyPantry stock next to recipes and meal plans Open source household management: stock tracking, shopping lists from low stock, recipes with ingredient check, meal planning, choresYou run it: PHP 8.5 with SQLite; website import of recipes not namedSelf-hosted web app; Windows desktop app; community Android and Apple apps; Home Assistant add-onMIT Source Visit
KitchenOwlA shared grocery list with recipes and expenses Open source grocery list and recipe manager; store recipes from the web, plan the week, split expenses between membersYou run the backend (Flask, Docker images); no hosted service namedWeb, Android (Google Play, F-Droid), iOS, desktop buildsAGPL-3.0 Source Visit
RecipeSageOpen source without running a server Free hosted version with no ads, no paywall, no tracking; import from links, photos, PDFs and other apps; drag and drop meal calendar; lists sorted by aisleSelf-hosting is more involved than the hosted version; commercial use needs a separate licenseWeb, Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, AndroidAGPL-3.0 for non-commercial use Source Visit
Nextcloud CookbookRecipes inside an existing Nextcloud Open source Nextcloud app; paste a recipe URL and it is parsed and saved as a schema.org JSON file in a folder you chooseReadme calls it not production ready; sites without schema.org Recipe data fail to import; no meal plan or list namedNextcloud (self-hosted)AGPL-3.0 Source Visit
CooklangRecipes as plain text files Open source recipe markup with a CLI that parses recipes, generates shopping lists and runs a local server; free desktop Cook Editor; works offline without an accountYou write recipes in the markup; optional Cook Cloud services are paid (Cook Pro €12.99 a month)CLI, desktop editor, iOS, AndroidOpen source (license not named on the page) Source Visit
SaffronA tidy cookbook with 25 free recipes Budding Cook plan: up to 25 recipes on any number of devices, import just the recipe from any website, menu planner, grocery listsHome Cook plan $5 a month (annual) for up to 1,000 recipesWeb, Android, iOSBudding Cook plan Source Visit
CookmateA free plan with a meal calendar Free plan: 60 recipes, 1 shopping list, bookmarklet import from the web, weekly or monthly meal plans, cloud syncAds on the free plan; Premium 20€ a year (or 6€ a quarter) removes ads and limitsWeb, Android, iOSFree plan Source Visit
PestleSaving recipes from Instagram Reels Free forever on iPhone and iPad: save from websites and Instagram Reels, shopping lists, guided cooking, recipe scaling, unit conversionKeep 15 recipes; meal plans and import from PDFs or photos need Pro ($24.99 a year)iPhone, iPad; Chrome extensionFree plan Source Visit
ReciMeRecipes from social video Grocery list, meal plan and cookbooks free; imports from Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Pinterest, YouTube and from screenshots5 recipe imports a week on the free version; subscription price not stated on the pageiOS, Android, web app, Chrome extensionFree version Source Visit
Samsung FoodSaving any recipe and sharing the list Free on iPhone, iPad and web: save any recipe from any website, weekly meal planner, shared grocery lists, large public recipe librarySamsung Food+ ($6.99 a month or $59.99 a year) adds AI meal plans, cooking mode, pantry, nutrition tracking, unlimited saved plansiPhone, iPad, webFree with in-app purchases Source Visit
CroutonApple devices with iCloud sync Free with in-app purchases: import from copied URLs, automatic meal plan from your recipes, shopping lists that work with Reminders, timers from stepsFree limits not stated in the listing; Crouton Plus $24.99 one-time, Discover $14.99 a yeariPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Apple VisionFree with in-app purchases Source Visit
Eat This MuchMeal plans generated from your targets Free Forever plan, $0: generate daily meal plans, custom foods and recipes, foods from barcodes, recurring foodsWeekly plans, automatic grocery list, leftovers and PDF export need Premium ($5 a month, annual)Web, iOS, AndroidFree Forever plan Source Visit

We are not paid for any listing and there are no affiliate links on this page. "Not stated" means the source page does not say it.

Hosted free plan or your own server

Recipe apps split into two camps. Hosted apps are ready in a minute and cap the free plan by recipe count or import count; self-hosted open source apps have no caps but need a server, usually a Docker container on a home machine or a small VPS.

KindExamplesFree limitWhat you give up
Self-hosted, open sourceMealie, Tandoor Recipes, Grocy, KitchenOwl, Nextcloud CookbookNone; you run itSetup, backups and updates are your job
Open source with a free hosted versionRecipeSage (free hosted, no ads, no paywall), Tandoor (hosted free plan with 10 recipes)RecipeSage none stated; Tandoor 1 member, 10 recipesYour recipes sit on the project's server
Hosted free plansSaffron (25 recipes), Cookmate (60 recipes, ads), Pestle (15 recipes), ReciMe (5 imports a week), Samsung Food, Crouton, Eat This MuchRecipe or import caps, paid featuresCaps hit after a few months of saving
Plain textCooklangNone; files in a folderYou write recipes in a markup syntax

If you already run Nextcloud or a home server, Mealie and Tandoor are the usual choices: both import from recipe websites, plan meals and build shopping lists, and both publish Docker images (Mealie, Tandoor). RecipeSage is the easiest way to get the same features without a server: the project calls its hosted version free with no ads, no paywall and no tracking (recipesage.com).

What to check before you import 200 recipes

  • Import source. Website import reads the structured recipe data most food blogs publish. Tandoor imports from "thousands of websites supporting ld+json or microdata", Nextcloud Cookbook warns that sites without schema.org Recipe data fail. Social video import (Instagram, TikTok) is a separate feature: Pestle and ReciMe name it, most others do not.
  • The cap. Saffron's free plan stops at 25 recipes, Pestle at 15, Cookmate at 60, ReciMe at 5 imports a week. Decide whether you collect or cook: 25 recipes cover a month of dinners.
  • Export. Look for an export before you depend on an app. RecipeSage imports from Paprika, Mela and Crouton files as well as JSON-LD and CSV, which makes it a good landing place when you leave another app.
  • Meal plan to list. The useful part is the chain recipe, plan, list. Mealie groups the list by store section, KitchenOwl plans the week and splits the expenses afterwards, Eat This Much generates the plan from calorie and diet settings and keeps the automatic grocery list for Premium.

Scaling is the one thing every app does differently. Our recipe scaler rescales any ingredient list for a new number of servings, cups to grams and the cooking measurement converter handle imported US recipes, and the unit price calculator compares pack sizes on the shopping list.

Privacy and licenses

Self-hosted apps keep your recipes, meal plans and shopping habits on your machine. The licenses differ in one detail worth knowing: Mealie, KitchenOwl and Nextcloud Cookbook are AGPL-3.0, Grocy is MIT, Tandoor is AGPL v3 with a commons clause that restricts selling it, and RecipeSage is AGPL-3.0 for non-commercial use with commercial licensing on request. None of that affects a household install. Hosted apps store your data under your account; the Apple listings of Pestle, Crouton and Samsung Food show what each collects.

For a paper backup, our printable recipe cards, the meal planner, the grocery list and the pantry inventory are free PDFs. Grocy covers the pantry side digitally with stock tracking, and our garden and plant apps list continues the household theme.

Frequently asked questions

Which recipe manager is free without a recipe limit?

The self-hosted open source apps Mealie, Tandoor Recipes, Grocy, KitchenOwl and Nextcloud Cookbook have no caps because you run them. RecipeSage offers a free hosted version with no ads and no paywall. Among hosted apps, Samsung Food says it is free on iPhone, iPad and web, and Crouton's listing states no free recipe limit.

Which apps import recipes from websites?

Mealie imports from a URL, Tandoor from websites with ld+json or microdata, KitchenOwl stores recipes from the web, RecipeSage imports from links, photos and PDFs. Saffron, Cookmate (bookmarklet), Pestle, Crouton and Samsung Food import from websites too. ReciMe focuses on Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, Pinterest and YouTube.

What do I need to self-host Mealie or Tandoor?

Both publish Docker images; Tandoor also lists Unraid, Synology and Kubernetes, and Grocy needs PHP 8.5 with SQLite. Nextcloud Cookbook runs inside an existing Nextcloud, and its readme says it is not production ready yet. KitchenOwl's backend is a Flask app with Docker images on Docker Hub.

Which free app plans the week and writes the shopping list?

Mealie, Tandoor, KitchenOwl, RecipeSage, Grocy, Saffron, Cookmate, Samsung Food and Crouton all include a meal plan and a shopping list on their free tier. Pestle keeps meal plans for Pro, and Eat This Much generates daily plans for free but reserves the automatic grocery list and weekly plans for Premium.

Are there recipe managers for iPhone only?

Pestle is free forever on iPhone and iPad with 15 recipes, and Crouton runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Apple Vision. Samsung Food, Saffron, Cookmate, ReciMe, KitchenOwl and RecipeSage have Android apps as well, and the self-hosted apps run in any browser.