↑↓ to move ↵ to open Esc to close Browse all tools

Free Note-Taking Apps

What the free plans of popular note-taking, to-do and knowledge base apps include, with their limits and platforms. Every row links the official page we checked and shows the date.

15 appsChecked How we check

  • Our pick for all-in-one Notion Notes and databases in one place
  • Our pick for local notes Obsidian Linked notes stored as local files
  • Our pick for tasks Todoist Personal to-do lists
Note-Taking Apps What’s freeLimitsPlatforms Checked Website
NotionNotes and databases in one place Unlimited blocks for individuals, basic forms and sites, Notion Calendar5 MB per upload, 7-day page history, AI only as a limited trialDesktop and mobile apps Source Visit
ObsidianLinked notes stored as local files Free without limits, no sign-up requiredSync ($4/month billed yearly) and Publish are paid add-onsWindows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android Source Visit
EvernoteTrying a classic notes app Free plan with notes, spaces and tags50 notes, 1 notebook, 1 device, 1 GB storageiOS, Android, web, Windows, Mac Source Visit
SimplenoteSimple notes synced everywhere Apps, backups, syncing and sharing, all freeNot statediOS, Android, Mac, Windows, Linux, web Source Visit
Standard NotesPrivate plain text notes Plain text notes, tags, unlimited device sync, end-to-end encryptionMarkdown, rich text and folders are paid; history for current session onlyWeb, desktop, mobile Source Visit
JoplinOpen-source notes with Markdown Open-source app with Markdown or rich text editorSync needs a service such as Joplin Cloud, Dropbox or OneDriveWindows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, terminal Source Visit
LogseqAn open-source knowledge base Open-source knowledge base under AGPL-3.0, Markdown and Org-mode filesNew DB-version mobile app on iOS; Android coming soonDesktop, web, mobile Source Visit
AFFiNEA local-first workspace Unlimited local workspaces, 10 GB cloud storage, MIT-licensed editor10 MB per file, 3 members per workspace, 3 login devicesWindows, macOS, Linux, web, iOS, Android Source Visit
NotesnookEncrypted notes, open source Unlimited notes on unlimited devices, end-to-end encrypted50 MB uploads a month, 10 MB per file, 50 notebooksWindows, macOS, Linux, Android, iOS, web Source Visit
CapacitiesNotes organized as objects Unlimited spaces, objects and blocks, sync, offline support5 GB media in total, then 100 MB a month; no AIWeb, Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android Source Visit
OneNoteNotes in the browser Take notes anywhere for freeNot statedWeb Source Visit
TodoistPersonal to-do lists 5 personal projects, Smart Quick Add, list and board layouts3 filter views, 1 week of activity historyNot stated Source Visit
TickTickTasks with a calendar 9 lists with 99 tasks each, list and Kanban views, remindersBasic calendar view; more on PremiumNot stated Source Visit
TrelloBoards for projects and teams Up to 10 boards per workspace, unlimited Power-Ups10 collaborators per workspace, 10 MB per fileWeb, iOS, Android Source Visit
WorkflowyOutlines and lists All features on the Basic plan100 nodes a month, 100 MB uploadsDesktop and mobile apps Source Visit

We are not paid for any listing and there are no affiliate links on this page. "Not stated" means the source page does not say it.

Pick by how you work

  • Quick notes and lists: Simplenote, OneNote and Standard Notes keep it simple. Simplenote says apps, backups, syncing and sharing are all free.
  • A knowledge base: Obsidian lets you create connections between notes, Logseq calls itself an open-source knowledge base, and Capacities organizes notes as objects with custom types.
  • An all-in-one workspace: Notion mixes pages, databases, forms and simple sites.
  • Tasks and projects: Todoist, TickTick, Trello and Workflowy focus on to-dos, boards and outlines.

Try two apps with a week of real notes before you move everything. Moving a large collection later is more work than picking carefully now.

Free plan limits to check

Free plans are limited in different ways. The limits that matter most, from the vendors' pricing pages:

LimitExamples from the table
Number of notes or listsEvernote: 50 notes and 1 notebook; TickTick: 9 lists with 99 tasks each; Todoist: 5 personal projects
DevicesEvernote: sync on 1 device; AFFiNE: up to 3 login devices; Standard Notes and Notesnook: unlimited
UploadsNotion: 5 MB per file; Trello and AFFiNE: 10 MB per file; Notesnook: 50 MB a month
HistoryNotion: 7 days of page history; Todoist: 1 week of activity history
Monthly capsWorkflowy: 100 nodes a month

Local files or the cloud

Some apps keep your notes as files on your device, others keep them on the vendor's servers. Obsidian's pricing page says the app is free without limits and needs no sign-up; syncing between devices through Obsidian Sync is a paid add-on. AFFiNE's free plan includes unlimited local workspaces, Logseq describes itself as privacy-first and open source, and Joplin syncs through services like Dropbox, OneDrive or Joplin Cloud.

Local files are easy to back up and to open in another app later. Cloud apps sync without setup but tie your notes to the vendor. Whichever you pick, export a copy now and then.

Privacy and encryption

If your notes hold private details, look for end-to-end encryption, where only your devices can read the notes. Standard Notes includes it on the free plan, Notesnook says notes are end-to-end encrypted by default and its client and server are open source under GPLv3, and Joplin offers end-to-end encryption too.

For a quick note that never leaves your computer, the online notepad on this site saves only on your device, and only if you turn that on.

Free writing tools on this site

We opened each app's official pricing page, website or repository on the date in the table and wrote down only what it says. "Not stated" means the page does not say it.

Frequently asked questions

Which note-taking app is completely free?

Simplenote says apps, backups, syncing and sharing are all completely free. Obsidian says it is free without limits, with Sync and Publish as paid extras. Notesnook's free plan allows unlimited notes on unlimited devices, with caps on uploads, notebooks and a few other features.

Can I use Obsidian for work for free?

Yes. Obsidian's pricing page says you are not required to pay for commercial use, but it encourages organizations to buy an optional commercial license for $50 per user per year to support development.

What is the catch with the free Evernote plan?

The limits are tight: Evernote's comparison page lists 50 notes, 1 notebook, sync on 1 device and 1 GB of storage for the Free plan. It works for a small collection, but not as a home for years of notes.

Which apps work offline?

Obsidian says it stores notes on your device so you can reach them even offline, and AFFiNE's free plan includes unlimited local workspaces. Standard Notes lists offline access on its free plan, Capacities lists offline support, and Notion lets free users choose pages to download for offline use.

Do students get more for free?

Notion says its Plus Plan with a one-member limit is free for students and educators with a school email. Our list of free software for students has more education programs.