↑↓ to move ↵ to open Esc to close Browse all tools

Free Email Providers

Free email accounts in the words of each provider’s own pricing or help page: how much storage you get, how many addresses, whether mail is end-to-end encrypted and whether IMAP or a custom domain is part of the free plan.

9 providersChecked How we check

  • Our pick for encryption Proton Mail End-to-end encrypted mail
  • Our pick overall Gmail A large free mailbox with IMAP
  • Our pick for a custom domain Zoho Mail Your own domain for a small team
Email Providers What’s freeLimitsPlatforms Checked Website
Proton MailEnd-to-end encrypted mail 500 MB Mail storage, up to 1 GB after the get-started checklist; 1 address150 sent messages a day; custom domain from Mail Plus; Bridge for IMAP needs a paid planWeb, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS, Linux (beta) Source Visit
TutaEncrypted mail without ads 1 GB storage, ad-free; all data encryptedNo extra addresses and no custom domain on FreeWeb, mobile and desktop apps Source Visit
GmailA large free mailbox with IMAP Personal account with up to 15 GB of storage; IMAP always turned onStorage shared among Drive, Gmail and Photos; the free account may show adsWeb, iOS, Android, desktop clients over IMAP Source Visit
Outlook.comA free Microsoft account mailbox Free version of Outlook with ads; 5 GB OneDrive with a Microsoft accountAds; POP and IMAP access disabled by default until you enable itNot stated Source Visit
Zoho MailYour own domain for a small team Forever Free plan: up to 5 users, 5 GB per user, email hosting for one domainIMAP, POP and ActiveSync not included; selected data centers only; you bring the domainWeb, mobile app Source Visit
Yahoo MailA big mailbox with throwaway addresses 20 GB in the standard plan; up to 3 temporary email addressesAds (Mail Plus removes them); 24/7 support and 500 temporary addresses need PlusiOS, Android, web Source Visit
iCloud MailMail on Apple devices 5 GB free iCloud storage after the first sign-in on an iPhone, iPad or Mac; up to nine @icloud.com aliasesStorage shared with backups, photos and files; custom email domain and Hide My Email need iCloud+iPhone, iPad, Mac, iCloud.com Source Visit
GMXLots of storage and aliases 65 GB email storage, up to 10 alias addresses, attachments up to 50 MBPGP encryption optional; IMAP and POP3 must be activated in the settingsWeb, Android, iOS, iPadOS Source Visit
mail.comPicking a domain name you like 65 GB for emails, 2 GB cloud storage, up to 10 addresses from 100+ domains, 30 MB attachmentsPOP, IMAP and SMTP are Premium features; Premium removes adsWeb, Android, iOS, iPadOS Source Visit

We are not paid for any listing and there are no affiliate links on this page. "Not stated" means the source page does not say it.

How much storage you really need

Free mailboxes range from under a gigabyte to tens of gigabytes. Proton Mail Free starts with 500 MB and grows to 1 GB after the get-started checklist, Tuta Free has 1 GB, Yahoo Mail includes 20 GB in its standard plan, and GMX and mail.com each advertise 65 GB for email. Gmail and iCloud count differently: a personal Google account has up to 15 GB shared among Drive, Gmail and Photos, and the 5 GB of free iCloud storage also holds backups, photos and files.

What fills a mailbox is attachments, not text. A plain message is a few kilobytes; a photo, a scanned contract or a slide deck is a few megabytes each, and newsletters with images sit in between. If you mostly send and receive text, a small mailbox lasts for years. If people send you photos and PDFs every week, or you keep every attachment, look at the larger plans or at the attachment limits: GMX accepts attachments up to 50 MB, mail.com up to 30 MB, and Proton Free allows 150 sent messages a day.

ProviderFree storage as statedShared with
GMX65 GB email storageEmail only
mail.com65 GB for emails, 2 GB cloud storageSeparate
Yahoo Mail20 GB in the standard planEmail only
GmailUp to 15 GB per personal accountDrive, Gmail and Photos
iCloud Mail5 GB free iCloud storageBackups, photos and files
Zoho Mail5 GB per user, up to 5 usersEmail only
Tuta1 GBEmail, calendar, contacts
Proton Mail500 MB, up to 1 GB after the checklistDedicated Mail storage

Two kinds of encryption

Every provider in the table encrypts mail in some way, but the word covers two different things.

End-to-end encryption has a price: mail to someone outside the same service is usually protected by a password or a key exchange, and standard mail apps often cannot read the mailbox directly. Proton's Bridge, which gives IMAP and SMTP access to desktop clients, is available only with a paid plan. The "End-to-end encrypted" filter above marks the providers whose page states it for the free plan.

What to check before you commit

An email address is hard to change later, so read these four points on the pricing page before you give the address to banks, shops and friends:

CheckWhat the sources say
IMAP or POPLets you read mail in Thunderbird, Apple Mail or Outlook and copy it out. Gmail says IMAP access is always turned on; Outlook.com has POP and IMAP disabled by default until you enable it; mail.com lists POP, IMAP and SMTP as Premium features only; Zoho's Forever Free plan does not include IMAP, POP or ActiveSync
Custom domainYour own name after the @, which you keep when you move. Zoho Mail's free plan includes email hosting for one domain, so you need a domain to use it; iCloud's custom email domain needs iCloud+; Proton lists custom domains from Mail Plus on; Tuta's free plan has none
Extra addressesGMX allows up to 10 alias addresses, mail.com up to 10 email addresses from more than 100 domains, iCloud up to nine @icloud.com aliases, Yahoo's standard plan up to 3 temporary addresses; Proton Free has one address
AdsMicrosoft lists the free version of Outlook as including ads; Yahoo Mail Plus and mail.com Premium are sold as ad-free, so the free accounts carry ads; Tuta calls itself ad-free

If you send mail from your own domain, set up the three sender records first; our guide SPF vs DKIM vs DMARC explains what each one does.

Leaving a provider

Plan the exit on day one, because a free plan can change its limits or add ads at any time.

  • Copy your mail out with IMAP. Add the account to a desktop mail app and drag the folders into a local folder or into the new account. This only works where IMAP is part of the free plan (the "IMAP on free plan" filter); with Proton it needs Bridge and a paid plan, and with mail.com it needs Premium.
  • Forward for a while. Keep the old account for a few months, forward new mail to the new address, and change the address at every service that writes to you. Automatic forwarding is not free everywhere; check the plan page.
  • Use your own domain if you can. With a custom domain the address stays the same when you change providers; only the records at your domain registrar change.
  • Protect the new account. Create a long, unique password with the password generator (how long is explained in how long should a password be) and switch on two-factor authentication; the two-factor authentication methods guide compares app codes, keys and SMS, and the 2FA code generator shows how the codes work.
  • Finish with a signature. Make the new address look settled with the email signature generator.

Frequently asked questions

Which free email account has the most storage?

GMX and mail.com each advertise 65 GB of email storage on their free accounts. Yahoo Mail includes 20 GB in its standard plan. A personal Google account has up to 15 GB, shared among Drive, Gmail and Photos, and the 5 GB of free iCloud storage is shared with backups, photos and files.

Which free email providers are end-to-end encrypted?

Proton Mail says its free accounts offer the same level of encryption as its paid plans, and Tuta says all data in Tuta is encrypted, with mail between Tuta users encrypted automatically. GMX offers PGP encryption as an option. Gmail encrypts messages in transit; Google does not describe this as end-to-end.

Can I use my own domain with a free email account?

Zoho Mail's Forever Free plan includes email hosting for one domain for up to 5 users with 5 GB each, but it does not include IMAP, POP or ActiveSync and is available only in selected data centers. iCloud's custom email domain needs iCloud+, and Proton lists custom domains from Mail Plus on.

Which free accounts work with a desktop mail app over IMAP?

Gmail says IMAP access is always turned on for personal accounts. Outlook.com supports POP and IMAP, but access is disabled by default and must be enabled first. GMX can be used with third-party apps after activating POP3 and IMAP in the settings. mail.com lists POP, IMAP and SMTP as Premium features, and Proton's Bridge needs a paid plan.

Do free email accounts show ads?

Some do. Microsoft lists the free version of Outlook as including ads, Yahoo Mail Plus is sold as email free of advertising, and mail.com Premium removes ads, so their free accounts carry ads. Google says a free Gmail account may show ads but that mail content is never used to personalize them. Tuta describes itself as ad-free.