The four types side by side
Every type is built around a network: the facilities, providers and suppliers the plan has contracted with. Network providers agree on prices with the plan, which is why care inside the network costs you less. The types differ in what happens when you step outside it and in whether a primary care doctor has to send you to a specialist. The table uses only what HealthCare.gov and CMS say about each type; where they say nothing, the cell says so.
| Type | Network | Referral for a specialist | Out-of-network care | Cost, as described |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HMO | Usually limited to doctors who work for or contract with the HMO; you may have to live or work in its service area | Many HMOs require one for anyone but your primary care doctor | Generally not covered, except emergencies | Not stated; HMOs often focus on integrated care and prevention |
| PPO | Contracted network of participating providers | Not needed to go outside the network | Covered at an additional cost | You pay less in network |
| EPO | Covered only in the plan's network | Not stated; check the plan | Not covered, except emergencies | Not stated |
| POS | You pay less with network providers | Required from your primary care doctor | Not spelled out; you pay more than in network | You pay less in network |
Two rules cut across all four. Emergencies are covered out of network, and the CMS provider networks fact sheet says a plan cannot charge you more in copayments or coinsurance for emergency care at an out-of-network hospital, or require prior approval for it. And none of the definitions say one type is cheaper to buy than another. Premiums depend on the plan and the area, so compare the actual prices on offer.
Each of these plan types is also sold in bronze, silver, gold and platinum versions, which set how costs are shared; the guide to the metal tiers explains that second choice.
One visit under each type
A specialist charges $250 for a visit. Assume the deductible is already met, the plan's allowed amount for the visit is $150, in-network coinsurance is 20 percent and out-of-network coinsurance is 40 percent. These are example figures, not typical ones; your plan's Summary of Benefits and Coverage has the real ones.
| Situation | You pay | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Any type, in network | $30 | 20% coinsurance on the $150 allowed amount |
| PPO, out of network | $160 | 40% of $150, plus the $100 above the allowed amount |
| HMO or EPO, out of network | $250 | not covered outside an emergency, so the full charge |
| POS or HMO, required referral skipped | $250 | the plan may not pay without the referral |
The PPO row shows the cost of flexibility. Out of network you pay a higher coinsurance, and the provider can bill you for the $100 between its charge and the allowed amount. HealthCare.gov calls that balance billing, and its glossary notes that a preferred provider may not balance bill you for covered services. So the same visit costs $30 in network and $160 outside it, 5.3 times as much. In an HMO or EPO the out-of-network visit is simply not covered, and the full $250 is yours. The percentage calculator runs the coinsurance step for any allowed amount.
Which type fits which situation
- Your doctors are all in one network. An HMO or EPO costs you nothing in flexibility. Confirm each doctor first, and check whether the HMO needs you to live or work in its service area.
- You want to keep a doctor outside every network you are offered. Only a PPO, or a POS plan, pays anything toward that visit, and it still costs more than in network.
- You see specialists often. A POS plan and many HMOs make you go through your primary care doctor first. That is a step, not a ban, but a missed referral can mean the plan does not pay.
- You travel a lot. CMS suggests checking whether the network has providers where you might need care. Outside emergencies, an HMO or EPO will not pay a doctor in another city who is outside the network.
Whichever type you pick, the yearly cost question is the same one covered in deductible vs out-of-pocket maximum: twelve premiums plus your share of care, up to the plan's limit. Note that the out-of-pocket maximum only protects in-network care. The budget planner puts that monthly premium next to the rest of your fixed costs.
How to check if a doctor is in network
CMS gives the first three steps for Marketplace plans; the last two are simple record keeping.
- List every provider you use. Doctors, therapists, the hospital you would go to, urgent care, and your pharmacy all count as providers. Add your dependents' doctors too.
- Search each plan's own directory. Insurers may use different networks for different plans, so a doctor in one plan from an insurer can be out of network in another plan from the same insurer. On HealthCare.gov each plan description links to its provider directory.
- Call the insurer. The customer service number can confirm whether a provider is in a specific plan's network. Give the full plan name and its 14-character plan ID, not just the insurer's name.
- Ask the doctor's office the same question. Name the exact plan rather than the insurance company, for the same reason as step 2.
- Keep a record. Note the date, who you spoke with and what they said, in case a claim is denied later.
Emergency care and some out-of-network bills at in-network hospitals have federal protection; the No Surprises Act guide lists what it covers.
If your doctor turns out to be out of network
The CMS fact sheet lists what you can do once you are enrolled. You can ask the plan for an exception so that out-of-network care is covered like in-network care. If you are in treatment and the plan ends its contract with your provider, you may qualify as a continuing care patient. If the plan refuses to pay for a visit, you have the right to appeal and have the decision reviewed by an independent third party. Otherwise you can switch plans during Open Enrollment, which CMS gives as November 1 to January 15, or earlier if a life event gives you a Special Enrollment Period. The guide to health insurance Open Enrollment has the dates and deadlines. Check when the new coverage starts before cancelling the old plan, so there is no gap.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between an HMO and a PPO?
HealthCare.gov describes an HMO as usually limiting coverage to doctors who work for or contract with the HMO, with out-of-network care generally not covered except in an emergency. A PPO also has a network and charges less inside it, but you can see doctors outside the network without a referral for an additional cost. The trade is flexibility against staying inside a set list of providers.
Is an EPO the same as an HMO?
They are close. Both cover care only from the plan's network except in an emergency. HealthCare.gov adds two points for HMOs that it does not make for EPOs: many HMOs require a referral before you see anyone other than your primary care doctor, and an HMO may require you to live or work in its service area. Check the referral rules in the specific EPO's plan documents.
Do I need a referral to see a specialist?
In a POS plan, yes: HealthCare.gov says POS plans require a referral from your primary care doctor to see a specialist. Many HMOs require one too. A PPO lets you see providers outside the network without a referral. If a referral is required and you skip it, the plan may not pay for the visit.
Are emergencies covered out of network?
Yes, in all four types. HMO and EPO definitions both carve out emergencies, and the CMS provider networks fact sheet says plans cannot charge you more in copayments or coinsurance for emergency care at an out-of-network hospital, or make you get prior approval first. You may still owe in-network costs such as a deductible.
How do I find out which type a plan is?
On HealthCare.gov the plan type is listed right below the plan name, as PPO, POS, HMO or EPO. It is also listed on each plan's Summary of Benefits and Coverage. If you are unsure, the CMS fact sheet says to call the insurance company or the Marketplace Call Center at 1-800-318-2596.
Sources
- HealthCare.gov: Health insurance plan and network types (HMO, PPO, POS and EPO as the Marketplace describes them; POS plans require a referral to see a specialist; PPO out-of-network care without a referral for an additional cost)
- HealthCare.gov glossary: Health Maintenance Organization (coverage usually limited to doctors who work for or contract with the HMO; no out-of-network coverage except emergencies; service area; integrated care and prevention)
- HealthCare.gov glossary: Preferred Provider Organization (a network of participating providers; you pay less in network; outside providers for an additional cost)
- HealthCare.gov glossary: Exclusive Provider Organization (services covered only in the plan's network, except in an emergency)
- HealthCare.gov glossary: Point of Service plan (pay less in network; referral from the primary care doctor to see a specialist)
- HealthCare.gov glossary: Referral (a written order from your primary care doctor; many HMOs require one; without it the plan may not pay)
- HealthCare.gov glossary: Balance billing (billing the difference between the provider's charge and the allowed amount; the $100 and $70 example; a preferred provider may not balance bill for covered services)
- HealthCare.gov glossary: Out-of-pocket maximum/limit (the limit covers in-network care; out-of-network care and services do not count)
- CMS: What You Should Know About Provider Networks, February 2026 (how to check a doctor before choosing a plan; plan type shown under the plan name and in the Summary of Benefits and Coverage; emergency care rules; exceptions, continuing care, appeals, Open Enrollment dates)
General information based on the sources above, not tax, legal or financial advice.