↑↓ to move ↵ to open Esc to close Browse all tools

Free AI for Students

Free AI plans and education offers for students, learners and teachers. Each row names who qualifies exactly as the vendor states it, and links the official page with the date we checked it.

10 offersChecked How we check

AI for Students What’s freePlanWho qualifies and limits Checked Website
Google AI Pro student planUS college students Google AI Pro free for 1 yearFree Google AI Pro student planEligible US college students 18+; redeem by Dec 31, 2026; $19.99 a month after unless canceled Source Visit
Gemini for EducationStudents with a school Google account Gemini app with Gems, Canvas, Audio Overviews and Gemini LiveIncluded in all Workspace for Education editionsSchool must turn it on; all ages, extra guardrails under 18 Source Visit
Gemini Notebook (NotebookLM)Studying your own notes and sources Free plan with a Gmail account, access to Gemini modelsFree plan100 notebooks, 50 sources each; users above the age of consent Source Visit
Microsoft Copilot Chat at schoolStudents with a Microsoft school account Copilot Chat, Study and Learn, Copilot NotebooksMicrosoft 365 Education A1, A3 or A5 student licenseAges 13+; off by default for 13 to 17 in K-12 schools Source Visit
Microsoft 365 Premium for college studentsCollege students who use Office apps 12 months of Microsoft 365 Premium, an AI and productivity subscriptionMicrosoft 365 PremiumCollege email needed; limited time, terms apply Source Visit
GitHub Copilot StudentStudents who write code Copilot features for freeCopilot StudentVerified students only, through GitHub Education Source Visit
Google ColabLearning machine learning in notebooks Free of charge, with limited GPU accessFree (Colab Pro for Education closed to new signups)Up to 12 hours per runtime; GPU access heavily restricted Source Visit
Perplexity Education ProResearch with cited sources Everything in Pro plus Learn Mode, at a discountEducation ProVerified students and educators via SheerID; price not stated Source Visit
Khanmigo for teachersTeachers planning lessons Teacher tools with a free sign-upFree for teachersEducators 18+ in listed countries; learners pay (US only) Source Visit
MagicSchoolTeachers trying AI tools 80+ teacher tools, Raina chatbot, quizzes, class writing feedbackForever FreeStudent tools and unlimited generations are on paid plans Source Visit

We are not paid for any listing and there are no affiliate links on this page. "Not stated" means the source page does not say it.

Three ways students get AI for free

  • Student offers you claim yourself. You verify that you are a student and get a paid plan for free or at a discount for a set time, like Google's AI Pro student plan in the US, Microsoft 365 Premium for college students or GitHub Copilot Student.
  • Through your school account. If your school uses Google Workspace for Education or Microsoft 365 Education, Gemini or Copilot Chat may already be included. Your school's IT team decides whether it is switched on.
  • Free plans that suit studying. Some tools are free for everyone and fit schoolwork well, like Gemini Notebook for working with your own sources or Colab for learning to code with notebooks.

Teachers have their own free plans too: Khanmigo's teacher tools and MagicSchool's Forever Free plan are both aimed at educators.

Check who qualifies before you sign up

Student offers differ a lot in age, country and proof. The details from the official pages:

OfferWhoDeadline or length
Google AI Pro student planEligible US college students 18 and older; payment method requiredRedeem by December 31, 2026; one year
GitHub Copilot StudentVerified students through GitHub Education, at least 13 years oldWhile you stay verified
Microsoft 365 PremiumCollege students with a college email12 months, for a limited time
Copilot Chat at schoolStudents 13 and older with an A1, A3 or A5 student licenseSet up by the school

Offers also change by country. When we opened gemini.google/students from Germany, the page offered a free year of Google AI Plus instead of AI Pro, for eligible people 18 and older, valid until December 31, 2026. Always read the version of the page for your own country.

GitHub's student application page asks for enrollment in a degree or diploma program, including high school and homeschool, and accepts proof like a dated school ID, class schedule or transcript.

Watch the end of the free period

Several offers turn into paid plans on their own. Google's US page says AI Pro charges $19.99 a month after the free year unless you cancel earlier, and eligibility must be verified again each year. Put a reminder in your calendar a week before the end date.

Offers also close. Google's Colab FAQ says it is not accepting new signups for Colab Pro for Education, although the regular free Colab is still free of charge. If an offer from a news article is missing here, it may have ended or we could not confirm it on the vendor's page.

Using AI for schoolwork

Check your course's AI policy before you use any of these tools for graded work, and keep a note of how you used AI in case you need to explain it. School accounts can have extra protections: Google says data from Gemini for Education is not human reviewed or used to train AI models, and Microsoft says students under 13 cannot access Copilot Chat with a school account.

A few free tools on this site help you study with or without AI: the prompt builder for clear questions, the flashcard maker to turn notes into cards, the citation generator for your sources and the focus timer for study sessions.

How we checked

We opened each vendor's own offer, pricing, help or documentation page on the date in the table and copied who qualifies and what is included in the vendor's words. Nothing from deal sites or news articles. Offers whose official page we could not read are not listed, and a "Not stated" cell means the page does not say it.

Frequently asked questions

Is Gemini free for students?

In the US, Google offers eligible college students 18 and older a free year of Google AI Pro if they redeem it by December 31, 2026. Students whose school uses Google Workspace for Education may also get the Gemini app through their school account at no charge, if the school turns it on.

Can high school students get free AI tools?

Some. GitHub Education accepts students from 13 years old, including high school and homeschool. Microsoft lets students 13 and older use Copilot Chat with a school license once an administrator enables it, and Google says the Gemini app for education is available to users of all ages, with extra guardrails under 18.

Do I need a school email address?

For some offers. Microsoft's 12 months of Microsoft 365 Premium needs a college email, and GitHub may ask you to add and verify an academic email when you apply. Perplexity says any email address can be used for its SheerID student verification.

What happens when the free year ends?

Read the offer terms. Google says its US student plan charges $19.99 a month after the free year unless you cancel earlier. Other offers end when you stop being a verified student, so check the renewal rules on each page.