↑↓ to move ↵ to open Esc to close Browse all tools

Free Learning Apps for Kids

Free learning apps and sites for children, from reading and math to drawing and coding. For each one we opened the official site or app store listing and noted what is free, the limits and the platforms.

11 appsChecked How we check

  • Our pick for early learning Khan Academy Kids Early reading and math, ages 2 to 8
  • Our pick for open source GCompris Over 100 activities, ages 2 to 10
  • Our pick for classrooms ANTON Over 15 subjects, preschool to middle school
Learning Apps for Kids What’s freeLimitsPlatformsOpen source license Checked Website
Khan Academy KidsEarly reading and math, ages 2 to 8 100% free, no ads, no subscriptions; books and games can be downloadedKhan Academy Kids for Schools with a teacher dashboard costs $5 per studentiOS, Android, Amazon AppstoreNot stated Source Visit
Duolingo ABCLearning to read, preschool to second grade Free app with no ads or in-app purchases; works offlineListing rated 4+, made for ages 0 to 5iPhone, iPad (iOS 13 or later)Not stated Source Visit
PBS KIDS GamesGames with PBS KIDS characters, ages 2 to 8 280+ free curriculum-based games; games can be downloaded to play offlinePBS KIDS privacy policy mentions underwriting messagesiPhone, iPad (iOS 15.6 or later)Not stated Source Visit
GComprisOver 100 activities, ages 2 to 10 Free software; no Internet connection needed, collects no dataNo iOS version; latest version not yet on macOS (4.3 offered)Windows, Android, Linux, Raspberry Pi; macOS 4.3GNU AGPL Source Visit
Tux PaintA drawing program for ages 3 to 12 Free of cost and free of advertisementsA drawing program; latest version needs Windows 8 or macOS 10.10 or laterWindows 8+, macOS 10.10+, Linux, AndroidGNU GPL Source Visit
ScratchJrFirst coding steps, ages 5 to 7 Free app from the Scratch Foundation; donations requested, not requiredDesigned for iPad; on a Mac it needs an M1 chip or neweriPad, iPhone, Mac with Apple siliconNot stated Source Visit
StarfallA free learn-to-read program Learn-to-Read program free for every child; no advertisingMembership for 700+ activities Pre-K to grade 5: home $35/year, educator from $70/yearWeb; members also get the mobile appNot stated Source Visit
ANTONOver 15 subjects, preschool to middle school Core content always free for everyone, ad-free; teachers can assign tasksOffline learning and other extras need an annual feeWeb, iOS, Android, Amazon Appstore, whiteboardsNot stated Source Visit
Prodigy MathA math game for grades 1 to 8 In-game educational questions free; teachers get full access for freeOptional memberships add goals, in-game cheers and printable practice sheetsBrowser; parent app on iOS and AndroidNot stated Source Visit
EpicA digital library for ages 12 and under Epic School free for educators: about 20,000 books on weekdays 7am to 4pmNo free home plan stated, only a free trial; Epic School Plus priced on requestNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated Source Visit
CodeAI (Code.org)Coding and AI courses for K-12 Student courses, tools and activities free; nonprofit, ad-free platformCourses are listed by grade band, such as grades 3-5 and 6-8WebNot stated Source Visit

We are not paid for any listing and there are no affiliate links on this page. "Not stated" means the source page does not say it.

Fully free, free core or free for schools

"Free" means three different things in this list. The official pages put each app in one of these groups:

KindAppsWhat the official page says
Fully freeKhan Academy Kids, Duolingo ABC, PBS KIDS Games, ScratchJr, CodeAIKhan Academy Kids is 100% free, with no ads or subscriptions; Duolingo ABC has no ads or in-app purchases; CodeAI says student courses, tools and activities are free
Open sourceGCompris, Tux PaintGCompris is released under the GNU Affero General Public License; Tux Paint is free of cost and free of advertisements under the GNU GPL
Free core, paid extrasStarfall, ANTON, ProdigyStarfall's free Learn-to-Read program is funded by memberships from $35 a year; ANTON's core content is always free with extras for an annual fee; Prodigy's in-game questions are free and memberships add goals and practice sheets
Free for schools onlyEpicEpic School is free for educators with books on weekdays from 7am to 4pm; families get a free trial

Ages in the table are only those the official pages state. Khan Academy Kids names ages two to eight, PBS KIDS Games ages 2-8, GCompris 2 to 10, Tux Paint 3 to 12, ScratchJr 5-7 and Prodigy Math grades 1-8.

Ads, offline use and data

The "No ads" filter only marks apps whose own page says so: Khan Academy Kids, Duolingo ABC, Starfall (100% ad free), ANTON (cost-free and ad-free learning), Tux Paint and CodeAI, which calls its platform ad-free. The PBS KIDS privacy policy mentions underwriting messages and says children's personal information is not used for marketing or online advertising. For the other apps the pages we checked say nothing about ads either way.

Offline use, as stated on the official pages:

Classroom and teacher accounts

Several apps have a free option for teachers, with different limits:

AppFree for teachersPaid for schools
ProdigyTeachers get full access for freeOptional parent memberships
EpicEpic School: about 20,000 books, weekdays 7am to 4pmEpic School Plus: 24/7 access and offline books, price on request
ANTONTeachers can assign tasks in class or as homeworkSchool/District License with analytics and rostering
GComprisGCompris-teachers companion app for custom datasets and pupil resultsNone
Khan Academy KidsFree appKhan Academy Kids for Schools with a teacher dashboard, $5 per student
StarfallFree Learn-to-Read programEducator memberships from $70 a year

To call on students in turn, the random name picker draws names from a class list, and the countdown timer counts down the days to a date such as the last day of a unit and shares it as a link.

Practice on paper and in the browser

A few of our free tools and printables work next to an app, without an account:

For older learners, our lists of free ways to learn to code, free math tools, free language learning apps and free ebooks are checked the same way.

Frequently asked questions

Which learning apps for kids are free with no ads?

Khan Academy Kids says it is 100% free with no ads or subscriptions, and Duolingo ABC says it has no ads or in-app purchases. Tux Paint is free of cost and free of advertisements. Starfall and ANTON say they are ad-free, with a paid membership or annual fee for extras.

Which kids learning apps work offline?

Khan Academy Kids lets you download books and games, Duolingo ABC says you can play and learn offline, and PBS KIDS Games can download games to play without a connection. GCompris does not require an Internet connection. ANTON's offline learning is part of its paid annual fee.

Is Epic free?

Epic School is free for educators and gives students and teachers about 20,000 books on weekdays from 7am to 4pm. Epic School Plus, with 24/7 access and offline books, is priced on request. For families, the Epic homepage offers a free trial and does not state a price.

What is free on Starfall?

Starfall says its Learn-to-Read program is free for every child, funded by members, and that the site has no advertising. A home membership costs $35 a year with over 700 activities, games and books, and an educator membership starts at $70 a year. Members get activities from Pre-K through 5th grade.

Are there open source learning apps for kids?

Yes. GCompris, with more than 100 activities for ages 2 to 10, is released under the GNU Affero General Public License and runs on Windows, Android, Linux and Raspberry Pi. Tux Paint, a drawing program for ages 3 to 12, is open source under the GNU General Public License.